Disaster Assistance

What is Disaster Assistance

After a disaster, the governor typically chooses to declare a disaster for one or more affected counties. When this happens, MICA is able to provide up to $5,000 to families to help replace appliances, food, clothing, or other goods, make repairs to a home, or temporarily relocate. We also help families by working one-on-one with them to help navigate the complex web of resources available after a disaster.

Do I qualify for Disaster Assistance?

If a disaster is declared in your area, you are eligible for disaster case advocacy. If your family earns less than $60,000 a year (for a family of four), you are also eligible to apply for a disaster assistance grant to help with repairs, food, relocation, and other expenses. Guidelines for the disaster assistance grant are listed below:

Household Size200% of HHS Poverty Guidelines
each additional personadd $10,280

Active Disaster Declarations

A disaster was declared by Governor Reynolds for Poweshiek, Story, and Marshall Counties following the hail storm of Sunday, 5/7/2023. If you live in either of these counties and were affected by the storm, you may be eligible for aid. The deadline for individual assistance grants has passed for this declaration and applications are no longer being accepted. You can still receive help through disaster case advocacy as listed below.

What kind of help is available if I was affected?

Disaster Case Advocacy: The Disaster Case Advocacy Program addresses serious needs related to disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse conditions. Disaster case managers work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and provide guidance, advice, and referral to obtain a service or resource. There are no income eligibility requirements for this program. You have 180 days from the disaster proclamation to apply for disaster case advocacy.

You can contact disaster assistance staff by emailing disaster.assistance@micaonline.org or by calling 641-325-4032.